Photo by Melody

Beginner Gardening Questions: What is the advantage of annuals?

Communities > Forums > Beginner Gardening Questions
bookmark
Forum: Beginner Gardening QuestionsReplies: 8, Views: 123
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
zeoplum
Mobile, AL
(Zone 8b)

April 5, 2007
6:33 PM

Post #3359416

I'm a beginner and was just wondering if there is any reason why someone would prefer to plant annuals over perinneals (besides loving something that just happens to be an annual)?
bigcityal
Menasha, WI
(Zone 5a)

April 5, 2007
6:42 PM

Post #3359450

I think it's always good to have some annuals because you can try new plants every year without moving existing plants.

"Queen Sophia' marigold

Thumbnail by bigcityal
Click the image for an enlarged view.

crashbandiscoot
Springfield, OH
(Zone 6a)

April 5, 2007
7:04 PM

Post #3359518

Color, not all of your perinneals bloom all growing season, since the annuals grow so quickly, they are alot of fun to grow. Some perinneals dont bloom til second or third season. Annuals are great for filling bare spots. Lots of winged friends like them too! If my plants I have now die back due to this freeze, I"ll still have my annuals. Easy ones are zinnas, cosmos, marigolds, so many varieties to choose from.
crashbandiscoot
Springfield, OH
(Zone 6a)

April 5, 2007
7:09 PM

Post #3359532

Please forgive my spelling, it is awful.
heathrjoy
Weedville, PA
(Zone 6a)

April 5, 2007
7:15 PM

Post #3359541

Price. Annuals are usually cheaper and can go a long way in filling in a new bed (with almost instant blooms like crash said above). Or, for the price, you can have one of each, like Al said. LOL!

Also, a lot of annuals will reseed on their own, so that is something to consider. I planted Petunias 5 years ago in a huge pot and have never had to replant since. The originals were hybrids, so I never know for sure what I'll get from year to year and I love the surprise!

melody

melody
Benton, KY
(Zone 7a)

April 5, 2007
9:48 PM