Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Beginner Flowers: Designing flowerbeds

Communities > Forums > Beginner Flowers
bookmark
Forum: Beginner FlowersReplies: 26, Views: 482
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
mevnmart
Spiro, OK
(Zone 7a)

April 9, 2007
3:21 PM

Post #3372215

I am a total newbie when it comes to flower gardening. I think I want to do primarily perrennials, because I get the most joy from watching my "old friends" come up every year, as opposed to planting temporary splashes of color. I just don't really know how to best "design" a flower garden to combine texture, height and color to advantage. Where can I get some good design ideas?
DaleTheGardener
Tampa, FL
(Zone 10a)

April 9, 2007
10:07 PM

Post #3373744

Do you know these plants? They should all do well in your climate.

Thumbnail by DaleTheGardener
Click the image for an enlarged view.

Little_Squirt
Wayne, NE

April 11, 2007
9:08 PM

Post #3381140

You can get ideas from magazines, there are a lot out right now. You can get ideas from driving around looking at others and you can get ideas from browsing in different areas of daves gardens and seeing other members flower beds. Check out your local nurseries and see what they have to offer that best suits your light requirements. And then jump in. A lot of it seems to be trial and error. Some plants I can get to grow that my mom can't.
DaleTheGardener
Tampa, FL
(Zone 10a)

April 14, 2007
6:04 AM

Post #3389175

Hmmm, no reply?

mevnmart
Spiro, OK
(Zone 7a)

April 14, 2007
4:32 PM

Post #3391062