Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Beginner Vegetables: Starting Seeds In Containers

Communities > Forums > Beginner Vegetables
bookmark
Forum: Beginner VegetablesReplies: 7, Views: 84
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
HighCntryGrdnr
Kremmling, CO
(Zone 4a)

April 13, 2007
1:44 PM

Post #3386918

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time gardening vegetables, as well as growing seeds. Last weekend I started my tomatoes, peppers, and eggplant from seeds in a seed starting flat, but I'm a little nervous about there care. I've read lots of contradicting things.

I used a good quality potting soil (Black Gold) and mixed it with Vermiculite (1/2 & 1/2) planted 3 seeds per container and watered them. I've been keeping them on my ktchen table (65-70 degrees) with filtered light. Everything I read says keep the soil moist, but I'm not sure how much watering they need. My flat has a plastic cover, so they shouldn't try out too quickly. Also how much light is too much? I read that seeds germinate faster in the dark, but I'm torn between light and it being too cool.

I know this is probably elimentry for most, maybe I'm just over analyzing.

taynors

taynors
Urbana, OH
(Zone 5b)

April 13, 2007
4:24 PM

Post #3387403

welcome to gardening :)
I m a begginer also and this is what i have learnded
Everyone has an opinion !! on how to do it. lolol :)
ask 10 people and you will get 10 different answers :)
but in general there are some basics
you need warmth, light and moist soil.
when they say keep soil moist, it really means not soggy . Touch dry soil mix and then add water lightly until it is lightly moist to the touch. YOu don't soup !!
water when needed
what type of containers are you using ? i use plastic dixie cups and then i transfer them to the bigger beer cups at transplant time.