AuthorContent
StressedTek
Racine, WI
(Zone 5a)

April 18, 2007
1:39 PM

Post #3405129

Good Afternoon Everyone!

My husband and I bought our first home two years ago and I'm going to be planting my first flower garden this year. Although I've done a lot of reading on the internet I'm a complete newbie.

We think that the previous owners of the house 'flipped' it, and although they stuck some plants in the ground they didn't pay any attention to sunlight and soil conditions and the bed that's there is barren. (There are 3 Rhodies in the front of the house that are very very unhappy...I'll be going to the rhodie forum here shortly)

Anyway, I'm going to 'redo' the bed that had been created at the side of the garage. It's a North facing wall that is mostly shady. I cheated and bought a 'garden' from Michigan Bulb and I'll be planting in the next few days. They provide the plan and send you the correct plants. The bed will be 22 feet wide (the length of the garage) and 6 feet deep and it's deepest. (The garden plan I bought was created 18 ft wide, so I bought additional flowers fpr the extra 4 ft.)

I dug a little in the bed last year and there was a lot of large rocks and chunks plastic and stuff in it, so I'm going to clean it out and remove all the junk that's in it first. Than I have eleven 40 pound bags of compost that I'm going to mix in before I plant anything. (Is that enough compost? I wasn't sure how to calculate that right... I figured my first calculation of 122 bags was WAY wrong... LOL)

Here's what I'll be planting:

From The Predesigned Garden Plan:
Lady Fern
Perennial Lilies (looks like an asiatic lily)
Widows Tears
Lily of the Valley
Fern Leaf Bleeding Heart

'Extras' that I bought (I got carried away!):

Pink Flamingo (Dodecatheon meadia)
Pink Magic Butterfly Violet
Astilbe
Poker Primrose
Chameleon Flower
Pink Sundrops
Ajuga Blue Carpet
Virgina Bluebells