Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Brugmansias: Help! Walk me through this

Communities > Forums > Brugmansias
bookmark
Forum: BrugmansiasReplies: 11, Views: 218
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
JanetR
Ottawa, ON
(Zone 4a)

August 3, 2001
2:57 PM

Post #9951

I received my first datura seeds yesterday (double purple). I've got no experience whatsoever with these babies.

Living in the frozen North (hard to believe in this hot muggy weather, but it is theoretically the frozen North) this will be a container plant, brought in to inhabit my living room for the winter. I might try one or two in the ground next spring as annuals, but to start with, just a couple in containers, outside for now.

Size pot? Kind of potting mix? Light exposure? Germination rates? Seed storage? Any special instructions?

I got these seeds from a small seed catalogue here in Canada (seedcatalog.com). They said there would be 10 seeds per packet, but in reality I got over 20. :o)

Thanks in advance. Left to myself, I'd just soak the seeds for a few hours stick two or three each in a couple of 4" pots and keep them moist in my miniature "greenhouse" (read: empty plastic croissant package). Please let me know what I have to modify.
Brugmansia
FSH, TX

August 4, 2001
12:08 AM

Post #105390

Okay, I don't grow Datura, but I have grown a few of them in the past from seed. Just sprinkle them out and push a tiny bit into the soil. They come up like weeds. Any Datura growers want to help? A few species of Datura need their inhibitors soaked out with either coke a coke or vodka rinse. Of course one can just use Ga-3 to by pass the inhibitors and cause them to grow anyway as Ga-3 is a growth hormone.
JanetR
Ottawa, ON
(Zone 4a)

August 4, 2001
12:57 AM

Post #105407