Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Beginner Vegetables: planting onions and Perlite

Communities > Forums > Beginner Vegetables
bookmark
Forum: Beginner VegetablesReplies: 8, Views: 88
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
michaelangelo
Brainerd, MN

May 6, 2007
7:20 PM

Post #3469785

i have no experience with vegetable gardening other than tomatoes and peppers I've grown successfully in containers. On a whim I bought some onion (bulbs?) at a box store to plant in an abandoned raised bed at the side of the house. The onions claim to be "famous Georgia 'type' onions (whatever thos may be). The bulbs are fairly slender and vertical and each has about a 3-4" stem coming from its top. The rather limited directions say not to plant it too deep, about 1". I assume they mean the bulb, so does this mean there should be an inch from the top of the bulb to the soil surface, or what?

The soil here (lakefront) in Zone 3b is VERY sandy and drains very rapidly . The bed contains about a four inch layer of discarded potting soil that was used last year for container gardening (mostly Schultz brand potting soil with Perlite and spag peat added). I read somewhere on this site that onions like a high pH, fast draining but rich soil? I haven't checked the pH yet but I HOPE the recycled potting soil plus sandy ground will be the right medium for them. What do you think.

I'm also wondering if anyone knows if Perlite is perfectly safe, environmentall. I understand it is a natural, blasted lava rock. A friend said she didn;t think it was environmentally sound. Now I'M wondering.
lexiekinz
Lakeland, FL
(Zone 9a)

May 7, 2007
9:05 AM

Post #3471385