Photo by Melody

Tropical Zone Gardening: plants - I promise!

Communities > Forums > Tropical Zone Gardening
bookmark
Forum: Tropical Zone GardeningReplies: 23, Views: 374
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Islandshari
Kwajalein
Marshall Islands
(Zone 11)

May 21, 2007
10:39 PM

Post #3520986

Hi all,
Shear exuberance and joy at new forum has made for some not really on topic threads. So, I promise no u/w pics at this thread. I do have a question for you to ponder though. I have a Pikake - Jsminium Sambac "Grand Duke of Tuscany", that is having some problems, and I don't know what to do. I gets very few blooms, and they brown and drop before they are completely open. Last only two - three days. Is this due to too much water/not enough? Something else? I have searched the leaves, and can find no bug. Ideas anyone? The leaves seems green and healthy enough, but I am no expert. Help?

Thumbnail by Islandshari
Click the image for an enlarged view.

MaVieRose
High Desert, CA
(Zone 8a)

May 22, 2007
2:10 AM

Post #3521819

hope this links help u http://www.floridata.com/ref/j/jasm_sam.cfm
http://www.plantoftheweek.org/week077.shtml
Islandshari
Kwajalein
Marshall Islands
(Zone 11)

May 22, 2007
2:18 AM

Post #3521855

Thank you MVR. Both were interesting. Don't you just love Plant of the Week! Always such pretty pictures.

Lily_love

Lily_love
Central, AL
(Zone 7b)

May 22, 2007
4:05 AM

Post #3522347

I don't believe this, coincidentally I've this vine too, and it's setting buds. Shari, of course it's being overwintered indoor in my zone. For our plant that may having problem flowering, they may need a boost of high phospate fertilizer. Let's see/hear others' chime in.
Islandshari
Kwajalein
Marshall Islands
(Zone 11)

May 22, 2007
4:14 AM

Post #3522369