-
AuthorContent
tenderkat
Kittredge, CO
(Zone 4b)

May 28, 2007
10:12 PM

Post #3546107

Hello, I'm sure I'm posting in the wrong place, but I am a beginner, so here goes. I've been filling my compost bin all winter, and I just went to turn it, and the thing is infested with red and black ants. I'm not sure how to proceed, so I need some advice. A leaf and dirt pile nearby is also infested with smaller brown ants. This area happens to be where I had hoped to place my garden, but now I'm not sure because of the ants. I'm hoping to eradicate the ants and still use my piles, and I'd like to know of any safe alternatives to pesticide, as I have small children.
WeeNel
Ayrshire Scotland
United Kingdom

May 28, 2007
10:54 PM

Post #3546223

Hi Tenderkat, there is a whole volume of tips, trials and fun re ants in the Landscape forum 27th May, this might point you in the right direction, hope so as from what I have read and laughed about is that you guy's in USA have a real problem with these tiny beasties.
Good Luck and hope you enjoy your entry into the garden world.
WeeNel UK.
momo125
Windsor, ON
(Zone 6a)

May 30, 2007
2:24 PM

Post #3552416

Try diotomatious earth. It is a natural product, so it can be used in your compost bin. It is crushed seacorals and other sea urchins. it cuts up their underbelly when they crawl across it and the powder absorbs their moisture.

This message was edited May 30, 2007 10:25 AM
WeeNel
Ayrshire Scotland
United Kingdom

May 30, 2007
4:52 PM

Post #3552982

Hi momo125, so glad I checked this item, I have never heard of this product though I am in UK, do you think it would work in the same way for slugs and snails, I could feed the French army on these slimey creatures and it is an ever ending battle, any web address for this stuff, or just Canada wide, we visit USA often and maybe I could get some on my next trip, sounds better than chemicals whick I DONT use.
Thanks for this tip. WeeNel UK>
Islandshari
Kwajalein
Marshall Islands
(Zone 11)