Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Cut Flowers and Floral Design: Favorite cut flower combinations?

Communities > Forums > Cut Flowers and Floral Design
bookmark
Forum: Cut Flowers and Floral DesignReplies: 4, Views: 110
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
lilac58
Mount Crawford, VA

June 22, 2007
4:22 AM

Post #3644042

I'm new to cut flowers and am trying to learn different combinations. We have a produce auction here that has a real demand for cut flowers and I'd like to take some if possible. People generally put a bundle in plastic sleeves and stick them in a bucket. What are some good combinations of flowers that make a hit. And how would you bundle up sunflowers? I have a lot of different kinds of flowers, but feel so new when it comes to arranging them. Thanks. D
karmaplace
New Orleans, LA
(Zone 8b)

June 23, 2007
1:15 PM

Post #3648436

Not sure what flowers would make a hit, but I've seen sunflowers rubberbanded together and placed in a plastic sleeve before. I think it would look nicer if the sunflowers were tied together with raffia. Sorry that's all I know.
Seandor
Springfield, MA
(Zone 6a)

July 8, 2007
7:30 PM

Post #3711617

Here I have used asiatic lily, hosta, astillbe, and ferns

This message was edited Jul 8, 2007 3:31 PM

Thumbnail by Seandor
Click the image for an enlarged view.

terriculture
london England
United Kingdom

July 20, 2007
4:13 AM

Post #3757610

Hand ties are very fashionable, quick and easy to do. I think they look quite effective if you choose a colour and use a lighter and darker shade of that colour .with it and maybe a little greenary. or just use one type of flower in a simple posy, complementary colours always work too.

Thumbnail by terriculture
Click the image for an enlarged view.

motts1
south central, WI
(Zone 5a)

July 23, 2007
4:16 AM

Post #3767760