Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Brugmansias: Datura bonanza!

Communities > Forums > Brugmansias
bookmark
Forum: BrugmansiasReplies: 11, Views: 179
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
JanetR
Ottawa, ON
(Zone 4a)

August 9, 2001
12:33 AM

Post #10367

I dug up five datura plants today (with permission) from a neighbouring home and brought the babies home! One is quite large, with 8 buds over two inches long, one on the verge of opening. The rest were smaller, most with no buds.

This is pretty exciting stuff, seeing as I just planted my first seeds a few days ago and now have blooms ready to open!

I hope they'll survive the transplant OK seeing as I have no experience with these. They are the plain white blossoms.

I am very open to any and all advice from experienced datura growers.
arlene
Newberry, FL
(Zone 8B)

August 9, 2001
12:37 AM

Post #107688

i don't think you could kill them unless you are me.. i like to use the schulz starter plant transplant stuff on larger plants i transplant.
tiG
Newnan, GA
(Zone 8a)

August 9, 2001
12:40 AM

Post #107690

I didn't do anything special to them, and I've had great luck. You will too!!! Be ready to take pictures.
JanetR
Ottawa, ON
(Zone 4a)

August 9, 2001
12:51 AM

Post #107697

Thanks, this is encouraging.

Pictures, eh? A digicam is moving ever higher on my wish list.

The big one went in a container in standard potting mix. That way I can move it around the patio to see what light conditions suit it best. As is, it will be getting sun till about 1:00 pm.

The rest got planted in in my heavy, cold soil, in different beds, so I can know for next year where they're happiest. Might go lift a couple more to try other corners.