Zucchini: how big is too big?

Caneyville, KY(Zone 6b)

My zucchini is growing like crazy! I picked 2 tonite that were huge and don't know if they are worth using. Both are just a little smaller around than a 2-liter bottle and about 18' long. They look perfect, other than the size. No cracks or off color. What do you think?

Robin

Lincoln, NE(Zone 5a)

Robin, I've only grown zucchini once (four years ago, and I still have some in my freezer!), so I'm no expert. But this page has some good advice on the harvesting of long, skinny summer squash that might be helpful.

http://www.urbanext.uiuc.edu/veggies/ssquash1.html#5

You can certainly experiment with it too; the nice part about zucchini is there's always more! :)

Good luck!

Caneyville, KY(Zone 6b)

Thanks, that's a great link. According to it, my zucchini is too big to use. I've only been checking the garden every other day this week and it's amazing how fast zucchini & squash grow! Guess I better start making daily checks.

Yes...always more!

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

As long as the skin is tender enough to cut wutha fingernail, they are usable. Most folks use the oversized ones in things like zucchini bread.

Oxford, NS(Zone 5b)

I always scoop the seeds out of the huge ones before I use them, and generally I grate them for things like zucchini bread, like Farmerdill said. Also, for that use, I do generally peel them with a carrot peeler first - doesn't take long, but I don't like the look of green bits in the loaf.

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

You can also scoop the seeds out, stuff them and bake them.

Springfield, OH(Zone 5b)

Of you are going ot cook them, being large isn't an issue. You can cut it up. add some onion and tomatoes and sautee until soft.. maybe a little rice vinegar and serve with grated parmesian

Caneyville, KY(Zone 6b)

Thanks! I hated the idea of throwing them in the compost.

The skins are tender Farmerdill.

Lincoln, NE(Zone 5a)