-
AuthorContent
LissyJ
Stansbury Park, UT
(Zone 6a)

July 31, 2007
10:58 PM

Post #3802575

Hey there everyone. Me, my DH and Looneylinda got together yesterday for a tomato tasting test on a few of the tomatoes that were ripe in my garden. We had a blast slicing up the many tomatoes and trying each one. I thought that many of you would be interested with the results. It was so fun to try out some varieties that I have never tried before and also some that I have loved from years past. I found some new keepers for my tomato garden. Here are the results: ( We rated them by the star system. 5 stars being the best and 1 star being the worst. )

Variety:

Kellogg's Breakfast: Lissy *** DH **1/2 Looneylinda **

Noir De Crimee: Lissy * DH * LL *

Delicious: Lissy ** DH ** LL **

Bloody Butcher: Lissy **** DH ***1/2 LL ****

Sungold: Lissy ***** DH ***** LL *****

Mortgage lifter (Estlers): Lissy ***** DH **** LL *****

Pink Potato Top: Lissy *** DH *** LL ***

Black Krim: Lissy * DH * LL *

Brandywine Sudduths: Lissy ***** DH ***** LL *****

Marianna's Peace: Lissy ***** DH **** LL ****

Brianna: Lissy **** DH **** LL ****

Cuostralee: Lissy * DH * LL **

Pruden's Purple ( I had a ripe one ready to test and you know what? My dog came along and saw all of these juicy tomatoes sitting on my garden box waiting to be put in a bag. Well, he saw the Pruden's Purple sitting there and just had to take it. That flea bag grabbed it and started eating it. I went over to stop him and he nipped me in the leg. So, LOL according to my dog Blitz, Pruden's Purple is a 5 star tomato. He wasn't about to let me take his juicy Pruden's Pruple away and ate the whole thing!!!)