Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Daturas: Datura

Communities > Forums > Daturas
bookmark
Forum: DaturasReplies: 5, Views: 67
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
TurtleChi
Danville, VA
(Zone 7a)

August 4, 2007
8:32 PM

Post #3817599

Hi,
I am new to this plant and would like to know a good place to buy seeds from? I know E-bay but do not know what a good price is for seeds. Thank you for any help. Are these easy to grow? I would be taking about growing next year not this year. Also I have two that someone gave me and one has blooms. Should I take these in for the winter or do they come back up? Sorry so many questions... Thanks.
Susan
bamagirl35973
Cedar Bluff, AL
(Zone 7b)

August 27, 2007
4:05 AM

Post #3904386

I'm in the same boat with you, I have no clue. A friend gave me some Double Purple Datura plants that are doing wonderfully. She did tell me to watch for the seed pods but I haven't seen any as of yet.
If no one answers you before I can talk to her, I will get back with you.

Wanda
Xeramtheum
Summerville, SC
(Zone 8a)

August 27, 2007
4:48 AM

Post #3904480

Datura a generally treated as an annual unless you live in zone 9. I have had some datura make it through the winter outside and bloom the next year .. since they are so easy to grow from seeds, carrying them over is not really worth it, especially in zone 7.

As to finding seeds, check out the seed trade lists and post asking for datura.

http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/f/trading/all/

Or you can check out plant files for datura .. see who has posted pictures and d-mail them. They also list vendors who have them.