Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Beginner Houseplants: I am new to houseplants being toxic/poisionous.

Communities > Forums > Beginner Houseplants
bookmark
Forum: Beginner HouseplantsReplies: 9, Views: 110
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
lovemyfurkids
Troy, MO
(Zone 5b)

August 13, 2007
1:07 PM

Post #3851150

I had never given thought to houseplants being dangerous. I have three dogs and cats that are inside pets. Now I find out that almost any plant I have or buy is dangerous. What are safe houseplants (either blooming or foleage) that do not require much light? I have a sun room, but want plants for my living room and it has low light. I want plants in my house for better air quality. But want safe ones for my furkids/
plantladylin
South Daytona, FL
(Zone 9b)

August 13, 2007
2:16 PM

Post #3851336

Hi Lovemyfurkids! I love my Fur Babies too and I love my plants! I have been keeping house plants for 40 years and have had many pets over the years too. One kitty that lived to be 24 years old! We currently have 4 cats in our family. One of my cats has a tendency to chew some of the plants. I keep a spray bottle of water nearby and whenever I catch her I give her a spray from the water bottle. Unfortunately this particular cat now thinks it's a game. When she sees me with the water bottle pointing at her, instead of running (as the other cats do) this one sits and squints her eyes waiting to be sprayed! We had a cat once named Crazy Cat ... I'm thinking this one should have that name instead of Cookie!

Anyway, I know there are many plants that are toxic to children and animals if they eat enough of it. Here's one website that lists a few:http://www.blankees.com/house/plants/poisonous.htm