HOW TO - Make faux sea glass

Hulbert, OK(Zone 7a)

Please pardon my presumptuous thought process. ;-)

I thought it might be a good idea to start a few 'how to' posts, as we all seem
to enjoy knowing how things are created even if we don't plan to make the
item.

Is this a good idea?

Here is my first addition for the Trash To Treasure Library. Hopefully
others will come forward and do the same with tutorials. If we try to keep the
subject lines about the same, with HOW TO in caps, they might be easier to find
for newbies or others looking for such information.

Using a rock tumbler for glass, tile and more....by Karen Manasco

(Instructions based on a small, inexpensive tumbler brand. Directions can also be used for larger tumblers. Simply adjust the contents of the barrel based on your tumbler size and barrel content limit. I am not an expert, just obsessed with tumbling things. Please feel free to alter the instructions to fit your needs)

Surely you've seen, or perhaps had one of your own. A rock tumbler. Many a youth owned the typical tumbler with a red barrel sold under the name brand of ROLLING STONES ROCK TUMBLER. Back then, the length of time it took to tumble and polish rocks seemed like eons, your tumbler ended up in the attic, the garage or a yard sale, seldom having completed the full cycles to produce beautiful rocks as shown on the packaging.

And yet today I find myself searching for these very same tumblers for use in glass and mosaic craft. Wait, don't go. It's easy! Fun, inexpensive, and best of all, you're recycling! No longer must you wait weeks on end to see results. Come on, join me, it's fun!

You will need:

A rock tumbler
Common play sand (need not sift unless you have cats. Ahem.)
Water
Vaseline or other lubricant
Broken glass, cut glass, tile, broken plates, cups, etc.
Patience