Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
maigloeckchen
Plattsmouth, NE

August 19, 2007
4:51 PM

Post #3874427

Hello, I just joined Daves Garden this morning, and how funny that the first entry I read was about Elderberries. My plan has been all along to pick Elderberries this weekend. I have been making Elderberry Jelly for many years, and I am so lucky that I only have to drive a few miles to find more Elderberries than I can possibly use. If you haven't made Elderberry syrup at all, you should give it a try. The flavor is similar to Blueberry syrup, only better. Thanks for putting a smile on my face.

melody

melody
Benton, KY
(Zone 7a)

August 19, 2007
6:37 PM

Post #3874763

Welcome to DG..(as we lovingly call this place) Glad that the story touched you...and hope that you grow to love this community as much as we all do.

Again, welcome!
KarenNEIA
Sumner, IA
(Zone 4b)

August 19, 2007
8:10 PM

Post #3875056

I also am glad to see this post! I went out and picked a bunch of elderberries and cooked them down. Because I have been so busy, I froze the raw juice. (35 cups) I had a little left over (4C) that didn't make it to the freezer so I made my first batch. It turned out terrible! Can you please give me a recipe? i looked in the Certo and Sure jell pkgs. and can't find one specific for elderberries! I don't think I added enough sugar and it also didn't set up.?
gessiegail
Taft, TX
(Zone 9a)

August 19, 2007
8:43 PM

Post #3875212

I can't help you with elderberries, but I love this story. When we were children we always took that long trip every summer with Grandma and Grandpa to the farm in Pecos, Texas where we would bring back a truck full of cantaloupes...
No one was allowed to eat one without saving the seeds for Grandma's garden back here at home.
Today, my grandchildren are so busy with athletics, etc. during the summer they don't have time for those wonderful lazy crazy days.