Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Article: Vegetables at the Fair: What fun!

Communities > Forums > Article: Vegetables at the Fair
bookmark
Forum: Article: Vegetables at the FairReplies: 11, Views: 91
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
KyWoods
Melbourne, KY
(Zone 6a)

September 1, 2007
4:49 AM

Post #3924489

Perfect timing for this article--I'm headed to our county fair in the morning! Although I don't currently have the opportunity to grow fruits and veggies, I always love seeing all the wonderous exhibits. This is my first year on DG, so I'll have a newfound appreciation of all the farmers' and gardeners' hard work. I'm sure this article will be helpful for those who've always thought of entering--and it got me more excited about tomorrow at the fair!
Kathleen
Panama, NY
(Zone 5a)

September 1, 2007
10:45 AM

Post #3924723

lol, neat article. I've never given ANY thought to competitive vegetable raising - all those ladies in their aprons standing behind their displays scared me off! (I did once show a heifer, and she and I got a white ribbon for showing up - my grandpa told me it didn't matter, she and I were the best lookers in the ring).

Funny thing about those FFA jackets - they just seem to shrink over time.

This message was edited Sep 1, 2007 6:46 AM
BDale60
Warren, PA
(Zone 5a)

September 1, 2007
11:37 AM

Post #3924770

Thanks Ky and Kathleen. (I'll have to think about getting one of those aprons if that will get me a competitive advantage next year!) Ky, have a great day at the fair.
Dea
Frederick, MD
(Zone 6a)

September 1, 2007
12:49 PM

Post #3924887

What a great and fun article Brian - I loved it !

melody

melody
Benton, KY
(Zone 7a)

September 1, 2007
1:21 PM

Post #3924967

Thank you so much Brian! It is a timely article that is informative and entertaining.