Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Strawbale Gardening: Root crops.

Communities > Forums > Strawbale Gardening
bookmark
Forum: Strawbale GardeningReplies: 9, Views: 113
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
rayman6422
Tucson, AZ

September 7, 2007
6:22 PM

Post #3947974

Have any of you grown root crops in your bales?
Radish, beets, carrots?

This is my first try at Strawbale gardening.
For the fall/winter crop I'm thinking of planting lettuce. I am also thinking about planting broccoli, cauliflower and maybe some cilantro.
rayman6422
Tucson, AZ

September 10, 2007
6:40 AM

Post #3957401

Looks like from the responses I got this is a bad idea. No root crops.
maypop
Norwood, LA
(Zone 8a)

September 10, 2007
5:51 PM

Post #3958864

I'd also like to get some ideas about these crops. Radishes are recommended in permaculture and for repelling insects like stink bug. Carrots might do OK since their roots need soft enough soil to grow. I see a lot of hay bales sitting around farmer's fields. Some of them look like last year's bales. But they're usually the large round bales, which cost $20 or more and are hard to move where you need them.
deanna8
Raeford, NC

September 10, 2007
11:41 PM

Post #3960103

The hay you use are bales. I use wheat straw I think some use hay.lowes has wheat straw at 4.11 a bale . I am trying to find a farmer for next year because I am planning to use 50 or more. This was my first year learned alot so next year plan to expand. My house is on 1.45 ac and I own the lot beside me 1.35 ac so have the room to expand a little.Wanting to try beekeeping so have been checking about that too.Now that I am older there are many things I want to do.Just turned 55. Deanna
gloria125
Greensboro, AL

September 11, 2007
1:05 AM

Post #3960512