Photo by Melody

Article: Preserving the Bounty, a Summary of Food Preservation (Part 2): Freezable foods

Communities > Forums > Article: Preserving the Bounty, a Summary of Food Preservation (Part 2)
bookmark
Forum: Article: Preserving the Bounty, a Summary of Food Preservation (Part 2)Replies: 3, Views: 54
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Chilko
Precipice Valley, BC
(Zone 2a)

September 14, 2007
8:05 PM

Post #3975508

Hi Paul

thanks for your articles--I've forwarded them to my niece, who is just starting to be interested in gardening and preserving.

Regarding yourr "foods that don't freeze well", I've had a different experience with rhubarb and sweet peppers. I've been freezing chopped rhubarb for a few decades in order to make rhubarb crumbles, matrimonial cakes and other delights during our long winters. I've never found that it goes mushy (I don't blanch first). And since we are many, many hours from the nearest source of fresh vegetables in the winter I've resorted to freezing peppers, as well. I simply slice them thickly, lay them on a sheet and quickly freeze them, then bag or box them. As with whole small tomatoes you wouldn't want to use them totally thawed in a salad but they are wonderful for stir fries, casseroles and the like.

Rosemary

paulgrow

paulgrow
Allen Park, MI
(Zone 6a)

September 14, 2007
11:11 PM

Post #3976066

Thanks for the info.

Paul
Prettylady1
Warrensburg, MO

December 7, 2007
1:29 AM

Post #4269614