Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Beginner Flowers: Gardenia blooming in fall

Communities > Forums > Beginner Flowers
bookmark
Forum: Beginner FlowersReplies: 6, Views: 69
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
JulieQ
Bella Vista, AR
(Zone 6b)

October 20, 2007
4:47 PM

Post #4104365

My mature gardenia had a full bloom in both early summer and now again in early October! Will it have time to set buds and bloom again next spring/ summer? Some leaves are yellowing, too. But, I think that is not uncommon. This is my first year at this house to observe this plant...
goofybulb
El Paso, TX
(Zone 8a)

October 20, 2007
5:26 PM

Post #4104465

I just purchased a gardenia a week ago, and it's also full of buds. I wouldn't worry about having blooms now, just enjoy! I don't think it will affect next year's flowering. Unless I'm mistaken, gardenias set flower buds on new growth, and it will certainly have new growth next year.
I guess you're in zone 8. They are said to do fine in zones 8-10, but if you know you have worse weather, maybe some mulching would help, or moving it in a protected area. Do you have it in the garden? I have mine in a pot.
This is just what I have planned, but this is my first gardenia, so not too much hands-on experience here...
prune it gently (remove weak growth and crossing branches) in late winter (I don't really have winter, I'll do it when the temperatures will be around 60F) and fertilize it or move it in a bigger pot when the weather starts to get warmer (really, for me this is about 1 month time-frame). It likes the acidic soils better, so I will use fertilizer for azaleas. I read also (I think in Logee's catalog) that a very inexpensive way of ammending its soil is to give it some coffee (diluted, and cooled off, of course). I wouldn't mind having a coffee now and then with my gardenia!