-
AuthorContent
podster
Deep East Texas, TX
(Zone 8a)

October 28, 2007
1:08 PM

Post #4131566

I would like to take cuttings of the H. sabdariffa plant to try to over winter and get a jump on the spring growing season.

I am also intending to try to overwinter the plant (it is potted) which is needing pruning.

Right now, I am waiting on harvesting the seeds. The seeds are making the plant too TOP HEAVY for the pot.

Attempting to cover all the bases here ~ lol

I have no experience with Hibiscus cuttings and am hoping for suggestions. Looking for pointers... All help would be appreciated! TIA pod

Thumbnail by podster
Click the image for an enlarged view.

Eclipse
Norwalk, IA
(Zone 5b)

October 29, 2007
12:15 AM

Post #4133441

I have rooted winter hardy hibiscus from cuttings before but not sabdariffa.I root the hardies in vermiculite under a mist system.You could try a few tip cuttings in vermiculite(get it at Home Depot, etc) in a pot with a large clear plastic bag around it.Leave a small vent for fresh air and keep in a bright place out of direct sunlight.
Kyle
podster
Deep East Texas, TX
(Zone 8a)

October 29, 2007
1:12 AM

Post #4133647

Thanks Kyle ~ I should be able to handle that. Sorry to be a novice but when you say tip cuttings? How long would they be? Also, how warm should it be kept to root? pod
cindyhib
Fallbrook, CA

October 29, 2007
11:43 PM

Post #4137170

Hi Podster,

Exotic hybiscus are very difficult to root, but the species are much easier, so hopefully sabdariffa should be easy.

Hibiscus cuttings do best if they're not too green. Really green, soft cuttings tend to rot before they root. Look for growing tips that have some wood on them, though not really old hard wood. You want new growth (this year's growth), but with wood on it. The cuttings should be a few inches long, at least.