Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Ladybeetle
zone 7, TX

October 29, 2007
3:54 PM

Post #4135598

Actually this is to the pros out there close to me. I want to know the status of your vegetable garden right now! I'm new at this and have just 'made' my hay bale coldframe.(I'm almost to the Red River in North Texas.) I'm going to attempt to grow lettuces in it.What do you think is the best way to do it?
Bubba_MoCity
Missouri City, TX

October 29, 2007
7:40 PM

Post #4136351

There is a Strawbale Gardening Forum, and threads on Southwest Gardening and others.

Winter gardening here in SE TX is wonderful - almost no bugs. Only time I can successfully get cabbage, brussles sprouts, lettuce. Any other time, it's probably 80-90% bug food. Only chemical I use is Murphy's Oil Soap. I do pour a quite a bit of black coffee on things to slow down the snails, but still have some damage.

I know you are several zones north if us so hope someone closer can chime in, too.
podster
Deep East Texas, TX
(Zone 8a)

October 29, 2007
10:44 PM

Post #4136919

My time is shy for a winter garden here so not able to offer much assistance with your question, sorry. I am guessing you are growing loose leaf lettuce? I know that in a conventional bed you can plant garlic and onions as well right now. They need no cold frame protection.

BubbaMo ~ have you ever tried spreading crushed eggshells around your plants to deter the snails? And, please share how you use the Murphys Oil Soap?
Bubba_MoCity
Missouri City, TX

October 30, 2007
3:51 PM

Post #4139509

I'm just beginning with the egg shells.

I mix an oz or two in a 32 oz spray bottle - fill with water and spray everything except tomato leaves. Seems to keep a lot of flying insects in control, and I have never seen any aphids in my garden.

Biggest problem I have is with the @!#$ leaf-footed bugs in the spring/summer on the tomatoes. They are killable when nymphs, but the only thing that works once they are adults is a rock and a hammer.