Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
watersedge
Northeast Harbor, ME

December 17, 2007
7:22 PM

Post #4304406

I'm looking for a source for chrysanthemum cuttings so that I can grow them for cut flowers for next fall. Does anyone have any recommendations? Thanks!
pupilpropogtr
Birmingham, AL
(Zone 7b)

December 17, 2007
8:30 PM

Post #4304582

Hi watersedge. I am the newbie here, but I am sure Terri or Karma or several others may know. I am growing mine from seed in a cut flower garden. I'll make sure one of these fine ladies get back with you.

Have fun.
Illoquin
Indianapolis, IN
(Zone 5b)

December 17, 2007
8:36 PM

Post #4304595

Try King's

http://www.kingsmums.com

Is that what you needed?

Suzy
edited to add: If you buy anything cool and need to split the order because of cost, count me in! LOL!

This message was edited Dec 17, 2007 3:39 PM
motts1
south central, WI
(Zone 5a)

December 19, 2007
5:24 AM

Post #4309448

I purchased from Kings a long time ago, got great plants. You do need to check their zone status. Some mums needed warmer than I get here, so I adopted out my "Kermits"
Drat-they are among my favorites, but I let my enthusiasum overlook the zone needs.
Edited to say "bloom time". We often have one killing frost early in October, then everything else is OK for a couple of weeks.
That spider "Icicle" is lovely...may re-think my resolve about zone envy.

This message was edited Dec 18, 2007 11:28 PM
Illoquin
Indianapolis, IN
(Zone 5b)

December 19, 2007
6:02 AM

Post #4309525

Oh, yeah, Zones -- I forgot about those. :)

I always think f mums as being pretty hardy, but there's a whole other world of mums I forget about :)

Suzy
watersedge
Northeast Harbor, ME

December 20, 2007
1:23 PM

Post #4312950

It looks like King's will fit the bill. I'll be growing these in a greenhouse anyway. Thanks!

Karl
Illoquin
Indianapolis, IN
(Zone 5b)

December 20, 2007
4:47 PM

Post #4313513

You're welcome!

Suzy
bermudakiller
Union Grove, AL

January 9, 2008
12:34 PM