Photo by Melody

Article: Growing Roses from A-Z (Part I): high society and social climber (JP)

Communities > Forums > Article: Growing Roses from A-Z (Part I)
bookmark
Forum: Article: Growing Roses from A-Z (Part I)Replies: 2, Views: 42
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
psull
Brighton, MA

December 24, 2007
8:23 PM

Post #4324850

i planted these climbers 2 years ago on a trellis against a brick chimney and the problem i'm having is (are) weak peduncles that won't support the bloom.
they get full sun and good water. i've been doing roses for 20 years but have not faced this problem before.
Any help would be appreciated.

paulgrow

paulgrow
Allen Park, MI
(Zone 6a)

December 24, 2007
11:48 PM

Post #4325133

1st thing in the spring get a soil test of those beds.

We need to know what's going on in the soil chemically.

Paul
shellabella
West Central, FL
(Zone 9b)

December 25, 2007
1:10 AM

Post #4325245

Psull,
This is interesting because I have had a similar problem with my ( JP) Social Climber also. I have some canes that support blooms well and others not. Not as many blooms as I thought it should have either.
I know we have completely different growing environments, but it's interesting we have similar problem with the same Rose.
I am not very experienced with Roses, but I did test my soil before planting. I amended the soil according to the instructions in a book called "You Can Grow Roses in Florida." 1978 by Linus Olson.
All in all I have not found this Rose to be nearly as vigorous as my Don Juan, which is planted near it. The blooms are wonderfully scented and color is nice . So I do enjoy the ones I have gotten.

Paulgrow, enjoyed your article and looking forward to the rest of the series!
Can't wait to hear what you guys come up with as a solution for Psull's Social Climber problem.