Advice needed for small commercial border

Kansas, IL(Zone 5b)

Hello, All!

I am fairly new to Dave's Garden and a brand new MG. This last year I planted a border at an intersection in town for a project. I was trying to go for a strictly tallgrass prairie type planting, but had a hard time finding enough native species plants at the time.

I ended up planting Prairie Sun Rudbekia, Indian Summer Rudbekia, three different Echinacea, two different Liatris, Veronica, Blanket Flower, and a feather grass... Can't think of the exact grass off hand.

This is on an island of turf, surrounded by asphalt. I have to use three extensions of 25' hose to water, so whatever I plant there has to be low maint. and drought tolerant.

I was not happy with the Rudbekia due to powdery mildew and the blanket flower was not tolerant enough to look its best.

I have been thinking of trying the AAS "Purple Majesty" millet. Does anyone have any input as far as how this might do in an area such as this? It also will be somewhat subject to wind.

Any other recommendations? I do not want to have to water at all once the plants are established unless absolutely necessary. I am in zone 5.

Thank You!

Oops! Upon previewing, I see that this is the WRONG picture! Not sure how to remove that, LOL!

Thumbnail by Ruminantia
Kansas, IL(Zone 5b)

Here is the picture I meant to post. This is still early in the season before it had filled out. In addition to possibly trying the 'Purple Majesty' millet, I would like to add some more height and movement with other clumping ornamental grasses.

Any thoughts on Russian Sage? I have seen this used commercially, but was wondering about how well it behaves?

thanks again!

Thumbnail by Ruminantia
Northern, NJ(Zone 6b)

Ruminantia,
I would try posting on the Indigenous Plants forum an DG for places to buy native grasses. There are some knowledgeable members from your area that post regularly on that site.