Photo by Melody

Bromeliads: Frost Florida Zone 10 tonight Do I cover bromeliads?

Communities > Forums > Bromeliads
bookmark
Forum: BromeliadsReplies: 10, Views: 68
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
terichris
Naples, FL
(Zone 10a)

January 2, 2008
10:34 PM

Post #4352696

I am new to bromeliads. The are calling for low of 30 in Naples tonight, brrrr. I mulched around them. Do I need to cover them also? Thank you!

mellielong

mellielong
Lutz, FL
(Zone 9b)

January 2, 2008
10:46 PM

Post #4352736

I just finished covering all of mine. Check it out...

Thumbnail by mellielong
Click the image for an enlarged view.

terichris
Naples, FL
(Zone 10a)

January 2, 2008
11:01 PM

Post #4352797

Thanks for the picture. Wow! You have a lot! I just covered the orchids I have in my trees. I think just leaving my Christmas lights on all night is going to help the most. I better get back to work!
tervherd
Lima, OH

January 3, 2008
1:49 AM

Post #4353546

LOL! Not to make light of your plight, but the temp here in mid-west Ohio right now is 11F and will get well into single digits before we start "warming" back up to a predicted high tomorrow of 20!

Sharon

mellielong

mellielong
Lutz, FL
(Zone 9b)

January 3, 2008
2:34 AM

Post #4353814

That's why we live in Florida! I may not be able to grow daffodils worth a dang, but I've got an entire bromeliad garden, LOL!
weedsgalore
Tampa, FL

January 5, 2008
6:38 PM

Post #4363948

Mellie and all, How did your broms and tropicals do! I covered my neo bed and not one had any damage! I am so surprised, as it was cold, cold...even my many broms throughout the yard that i didn't cover had no damage at all! But i did leave out a few large pots of Thai Hybrid Crown of Thorns, and they did get burned pretty bad...many Kalanchoes were frost burned too! sue

mellielong

mellielong
Lutz, FL
(Zone 9b)

January 5, 2008
6:41 PM

Post #4363960