-
AuthorContent
DallasDad
Murphy, TX
(Zone 8a)

January 29, 2008
5:25 PM

Post #4469571

I'm new to indoor gardening, and I severely overwatered a set of eight African Violets when I first got them. I don't see any obvious sign of wilt or root rot, but while the leaves are wonderfully healthy, the plants have stopped growing new leaves, and all the flowers shrivelled up and dropped off.

I'd hoped that once I cut back on the watering, the plants would recover and start blooming again. No such luck so far, and it's been a couple of months.

The plants are on a north windowsill. They get no direct light at all, but plenty of indirect light. I water them weekly, more or less, only when my moisture meter says they're dry down by the roots. I keep them in pebble trays for extra humidity, and am careful to keep the water in the tray from touching the bottom of the pots.

Will these plants recover and start blooming again?

N.B. the plant on the left shows healthy leaves, and stalks with remnants of old buds. It has not changed appearance in over two months. The plant on the right was the one worst-damaged by the overwatering. It lost most of its succulent stems around the bottom, but the remaining stems have become firm, strong, and "springy" when bounced.

Thumbnail by DallasDad
Click the image for an enlarged view.

plantladylin
South Daytona, FL
(Zone 9b)

January 29, 2008
6:32 PM

Post #4469851

Your African Violets look great to me and it sounds like you have a good location for them and are now on the right track with watering and humidity. Have you fertilized them at all? I am not an expert but have grown a few of these wonderful plants as well as others in the same (Gesneriad) family. I would recommend using a plant food for african violets or blooming plants and using half strength (of whatever it states on the container) and use this every other time you water. Since they are receiving the proper light and humidity I think all they need is a little food!