Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Beginner Flowers: Buddleja Help!

Communities > Forums > Beginner Flowers
bookmark
Forum: Beginner FlowersReplies: 7, Views: 118
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
SharkB8
Providence, RI

February 6, 2008
10:07 PM

Post #4503999

Hi there. Sorry, I realize there's another thread on this, but I didn't want to hijiack their post.

I bought a home in August from an avid gardener, and I, personally, know very little about gardening and end up killing anything I touch. I'm a wildlife biology student and have limited botanical training, but I'm not hopeless (I hope). I have fell in love with the plans in the yard and really am trying to learn what they are and how best to take care of them.

After hours of googling, I've discovered I have a few butterfly bushes in the back that have purple flowers, not really dark purple, but your basic purple. I also have a really tall one with white flowers that monarchs find irresistible. the bees tend to like the purple ones better. I'm sorry I don't have a photo of it, but I do have a video I shot of the butterflies, where you can really see it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t3xABXySsyE

I'm in Zone 6 I think and it's been a pretty mild winter here in Rhode Island and my question is the best way to go about caring for them now so they'll be better than they were last year. Should I prune them down? And what exactly does that mean? Just snip the plant at it's base? The purple ones are much smaller than the white one and right now just look like dead stalks sticking out of the ground. the white one lost all it's flowers, but still have brown, conical remnants from where the petals once were. It's obviously not as tall and full as it was in the summer and fall, but it still seems like a substantial little shrub.