Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Beginner Gardening Questions: Blue Wisteria - Is it a deer resistant vine?

Communities > Forums > Beginner Gardening Questions
bookmark
Forum: Beginner Gardening QuestionsReplies: 10, Views: 109
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
MountainFlowers
Coarsegold, CA
(Zone 8b)

February 11, 2008
2:53 AM

Post #4522034

Hello Everyone…

I just purchased my first bare-root vine a Blue Wisteria. I live in a heavily populated deer area and was wondering if anyone new if Wisteria is deer resistant? Thanks…
ecrane3
Dublin, CA
(Zone 9a)

February 11, 2008
2:27 PM

Post #4523472

I have no personal experience, but I did google to see if wisteria was deer resistant and a number of sites do list it as such. However, keep in mind that nothing is deer-proof...some deer seem to like to thumb their nose at the deer-resistant lists, and if they're hungry enough there's not much they won't eat.
glendalekid
Tuscaloosa, AL
(Zone 7b)

February 11, 2008
3:57 PM

Post #4523894

We planted a small wisteria last spring. The deer did not bother it at all. They also did not touch the honeysuckle vines in the same area. They left the crepe myrtles alone, but the Rose of Sharon bushes right next to the crepe myrtles -- oh, my, chomp, chomp.

I think maybe deer are weird eaters. Had two small rose bushes side by side, exactly alike. The deer ate one down to the nubbins and left the other totally alone. The bushes were two feet apart - go figure.

Will it be inside a fence? I've read that deer won't go over a fence unless they are sure of the footing on the other side. We did not have any of them try to get over our three-foot fence around the houses, just ate the plants there were outside the fence.

Karen

shebs45
Chicago, IL
(Zone 5b)