Photo by Melody

Poultry and Livestock: Any one have chicks for sale in NH?

Communities > Forums > Poultry and Livestock
bookmark
Forum: Poultry and LivestockReplies: 6, Views: 42
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
HomersMom
Francestown, NH

February 16, 2008
10:43 AM

Post #4545249

Hi All,
My first time here! I am a beginning chicken farmer! I'm looking for chicks for the spring...brown eggs layers like RIReds and any other suggestions? I also love what I've read about Orpingtons, laid back and good layers? Anybody know anything about the Speckled Sussex?
Thanks!
Barbara
BackyardHens
Antrim, NH

February 17, 2008
1:07 PM

Post #4549544

Wow! Hi there Homersmom! We're neighbors! ( Seriously, to anyone reading this, our towns are really close to each other)

I love my orpington and my mom is crazy about her speckled sussex hen. I didn't personally care for mine too much, personality wise, but I have a speckled sussex roo named Inspector Flecks and he is really wonderful and sweet.

My experience with RIRs is that they are standoffish, although other people have had more luck. My experience with silver laced wyandottes is that they are very very mouthy and loud and also standoffish.

I would go for the buff orpington and barred rocks. I'm a big barred rock fan!I love mine!

You could order your chicks at a local feedstore, but avoid the Peterborough Agway, as they have really screwed up orders for myself and several other chicken folks I know. Plus they were just plain old mean about it, which made me sad! The Henniker feed store, the milford blue seal or agway or the one over in Hillsboro might help you out.

Plus, as I am sure you have read around here, you can order chicks through the mail. My personal favorite hatchery is meyer hatchery www.meyerhatchery.com because they have great customer service, healthy chicks and let you order less than 25 chicks, but if you poke around here, you can see lots of choices in hatcheries.

good luck and welcome to the gang!