Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
jgconnor
Columbia, SC

March 8, 2008
1:56 AM

Post #4636035

My wife and I have decided to try veggie, flower and herb gardening this year. I've done a few veggies in the past, but nothing to speak of. My wife knows nothing at all, but is very interested in herbs and flowers.
We bought a few good books from Barnes & Noble and have been studying diligently for the past few days. I suggested we find a forum, so here we are!
We live in a patio home in Columbia, SC. The soil is useless, so I'm building a raised bed. There is a retaining wall that provides room for potted plants, also.
Is there anyone on this forum close enough to us to relate to our region and help us with our questions?
Thanks so much!
"JG"

Thumbnail by jgconnor
Click the image for an enlarged view.

tucsonjill
Lincoln, NE
(Zone 5a)

March 8, 2008
2:33 AM

Post #4636187

Welcome aboard, JG! I'm a novice myself, but have learned so very much from all the friendly helpful folks here at DG. I hope you'll be as pleased as I have been.

I (obviously) am a good bit away from you, so probably won't be able to help much with geographically specific questions, but there are lots of people who will chime in with whatever question or problem you're having. So, when you're ready to start asking, I'm sure you'll find someone who can answer!

Happy gardening!
NatureLover1950
Vicksburg, MS
(Zone 8a)

March 8, 2008
2:34 PM

Post #4637462

You might have better luck under the "U.S. Regional Gardening Forum," (perhaps Mid Atlantic). You will get to know lots of folks on your side of the country who will be able to give you the specific help you need. BTW, welcome to DG.
DigMontana
Libby, MT
(Zone 4b)

March 8, 2008
2:43 PM

Post #4637495

JG...I'm no where near SC so can't help you with planting in your area. I agree with NatureLover1950. You can find people in your area by looking at the regional gardening forums.