Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Heirloom Vegetables: Newbie with Q's on how far apart to plant heirloom tomatoes

Communities > Forums > Heirloom Vegetables
bookmark
Forum: Heirloom VegetablesReplies: 4, Views: 191
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent

Bookerc1

Bookerc1
Mackinaw, IL
(Zone 5a)

March 21, 2008
5:11 PM

Post #4691219

OK, I think I've gotten myself in hot water. I've never tried heirloom tomatoes before, but on a whim got a packet of mixed heirloom tomatoes. It contains:

Bonny Best (red)
Brandywine Pink (pink)
Golden Sunburst (yellow)
Black Krim (purple)
Evergreen (green)
Djena Lee's Golden Girl (orange).

But I also bought seeds for Rutgers, and two hybrids, Super Boy and Best Boy.

Now I've spent hours reading, trying to learn about heirlooms and what I need to do differently, and can't find the answers to some of my questions!

1. Was it dumb to buy a mixed packet? I sowed them in little cells, several to a cell, but when it comes time to thin them, how do I know if they are a weakling, or just a smaller variety? These were the first to germinate, several days before the hybrids. I have 12 cells with 2-4 plants per cell. Do I just tease them apart and plant them all, to ensure I get a sampling of all the varieties? I usually only do 6-10 tomato plants a year, and this year got carried away with 30 cells, each with several plants! I can thin the hybrids without cringing, but don't know how to distinguish between the heirlooms when they are mixed. . .

2. When I eventually plant them out in the garden, how far apart do I need to plant them? Is cross-pollination only an issue if you are saving seeds for exchange, or does it affect this year's crop?