Photo by Melody
We want to hear from you! Please take this short, anonymous survey to help us improve the DG home page.

Article: Aunt Bett, Bee Balm and Battling Bees: You made my day!!

Communities > Forums > Article: Aunt Bett, Bee Balm and Battling Bees
Forum: Article: Aunt Bett, Bee Balm and Battling BeesReplies: 2, Views: 9
Add to Bookmarks
morehead, KY
(Zone 6a)

April 5, 2008
3:56 AM

Post #4759491

You have no idea how long I have been looking for the stack cake recipe. My aunt Minnie(more like my granny) made these using her dried apples. I have friends who have ancient apple trees and make apple butter for me. I just got a dehydrator and wanted so bad to make the dried apple stack cakes like my Aunt Minnie. Now I can!! My friend got me my own cookbook called Butter, bacon and grease. "the best from the collection of George Taylor's recipes". (I am a good ole country cook and my friends love it)You have made it possible to add to it a recipe I have been looking for forever.
I love your Aunt Bett adventures! Keep the articles coming. Now to find an old fashion Jam cake recipe made with blackberry jam and I will be a happy camper.
Take care my friend
Calvert City, KY
(Zone 7a)

April 5, 2008
4:23 AM

Post #4759600

Well, George...
I will add to your day. I have my grandmother's recipe for the blackberry jam cake, and when I find it I will be happy to share it with you.

And how about gingerbread??

I am glad you enjoy the articles, and how fun to share something that you can use. I wish we lived close enough so I could have a bite of that stack cake!
morehead, KY
(Zone 6a)

April 5, 2008
2:10 PM

Post #4760953