Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
RoseMaria
Lakewood, OH

April 6, 2008
3:03 PM

Post #4765773

Hi, my backyard is mostly in shade, from partial to almost deep & I can't grow grass very well. I want to plant a wildflower meadow with low growing flowers (& perhaps with a low growing grass mix for the areas that can grow grass). I, of course, want everything. I'd like them to be 6" or under (or at least under 12") & have staggering bloom times. Any suggestions? I'm in zone 5/6 (sometimes my area is shown as 5b or 6a). I'm relatively new to gardening & this is my first post to Dave's, so thank you in advance!
doss
Stanford, CA
(Zone 9b)

April 7, 2008
1:51 AM

Post #4768672

Welcome RoseMaria! I hope that you enjoy DG a lot. I can't help you much with your problem though - I"m zone challenged when it gets down to zone 5. However, there are some astilbes that say under a foot.
RoseMaria
Lakewood, OH

April 8, 2008
1:56 PM

Post #4775511

Thanks! I just picked up a new, to me, book (from 1998) called the "Treasury of Gardening" & it says I'm zone 6b, who knows! I live close to Lake Erie so I guess that's why it's hard to pinpoint. Thanks for the suggestion. I'll look up Astilbe & see what I can find.
doss
Stanford, CA
(Zone 9b)

April 8, 2008
10:35 PM

Post #4777738

Ajuga is blooming here right now.

gardenlady123

gardenlady123
Plainwell, MI
(Zone 5b)

May 7, 2008
12:50 AM

Post #4916525

Rosemarie... do you only want wildflowers??? Epimediums are a very nice bloomer and the foliage looks great all summer. They are in blossom right now. Trilliums are nice...Jack in the pulpits, lily of the valley, tooth wort violets, snow drops in the early spring... Of course cant think of anything elas right now... About all we have is shade so Im right there with you. Ronna
sempervirens
Northern, NJ
(Zone 6b)

May 7, 2008
10:44 AM

Post #4917998

Hi Rosemarie,