Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Article: Seed Starting 101: The Dreaded Damping Off (and How to Prevent It): Newbie here with a few questions

Communities > Forums > Article: Seed Starting 101: The Dreaded Damping Off (and How to Prevent It)
bookmark
Forum: Article: Seed Starting 101: The Dreaded Damping Off (and How to Prevent It)Replies: 3, Views: 65
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Berrywrap
Philadelphia, PA

April 10, 2008
5:38 PM

Post #4787555

I have started my first seedlings in 2" peat pots. I planted tomatoes, nasturtiums, viola tricolor (johnny jump ups) bush morning glory and forget-me-nots (pretty ambitious for a newbie eh? : ). I started my seedlings indoors and I have had 98% success in seed germination. Just to be clear, I live in Philadelphia (zone 6) and do not have a garden, but have been successful over the past year with container gardening. I planted a tomato plant last year and it did extremely well. For a container plant it gave us months of tomatoes. However, with seedlings I am unsure. I think I may have put too many seeds in each peat pot. I have been successful so far in separating some of the tomatoes and the transplants are thriving in their individual peat pot. How long should I wait before I transplant them outside? I have seen pictures where the stalks are thick and green, however, my tomato seedlings are thin and only have two leaves. They are about 5 weeks old. Am I asking for too much to fast? Should young seedlings be feed? The seed packet did not give me much help except to say that I should thin them out when they are about two inches tall (check) and that they harvest in 65 days.