Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Peppers: Help! My sweet pepper seedlings have mold issues!

Communities > Forums > Peppers
bookmark
Forum: PeppersReplies: 11, Views: 136
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
catgal77
Everett, WA
(Zone 7b)

April 17, 2008
9:58 PM

Post #4823882

I am pretty new to gardening and brand new to peppers (and all other veggies). On a whim I decided to grow peppers, and things were going great... I started them in little peat pellets by seed under lights (they are a sweet pepper mix by Burpee), and once they got a few sets of true leaves and were fairly good size I transplanted them to 4" pots that I sterilized and used a miracle grow potting soil for vegetables. I don't think I have been watering too much, but I have been watering on top of the soil rather than bottom watering (now that they are in the larger pots I wasn't sure if I needed to continue with the bottom watering... obviously a newby at this). So now I have noticed the white fuzzy mold on the top of the soil, and also the base of the stem is having problems I think, as seen in the bad picture, hopefully you can see it ok. I guess my question is, does anyone have a suggestion as to what to do now? It is too cold outside here to move them out... we are supposed to get snow this weekend, which is not normal for us. Do I need to re-pot them? Will they live with that problem to their stem? My poor little seedlings! :( Thanks!

Thumbnail by catgal77
Click the image for an enlarged view.

Ozark
Ozark, MO
(Zone 6a)

April 18, 2008
12:44 AM

Post #4824489

I'd just cut back on the watering. Mold needs a lot more water and humidity than the peppers do. I think the mold is feeding on nutrients in the potting soil and not on your plants, so it should be OK once the soil has dried enough to no longer support mold growth.