Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Article: A naturalistic stroll in Madagascar: A threatened paradise

Communities > Forums > Article: A naturalistic stroll in Madagascar
bookmark
Forum: Article: A naturalistic stroll in MadagascarReplies: 13, Views: 56
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
gloria125
Greensboro, AL

April 20, 2008
6:34 PM

Post #4836449

jjacques: I was especially interested in your article because years ago I studied the Madagascar Lemurs at the San Diego zoo and I always wondered what their home would have been like.
Are there any preservation projects to save this habitat? And how are the lemurs doing?

Thanks for the article.

gloria
Sharran
Calvert City, KY
(Zone 7a)

April 20, 2008
8:06 PM

Post #4836811

JJ, I enjoyed reading your article. I found it very informative.
Thank you.
GranvilleSouth

(Zone 10a)

April 20, 2008
10:24 PM

Post #4837301

Good one JJ. I love that white frog. Great read & great pictures.

jjacques

jjacques
LE TAMPON
Reunion (French)

April 21, 2008
5:56 PM

Post #4841561

Gloria,
Some people in Mada do try to preserve forests and lemurs but it is a very hard task, even forests who have been bought and are therefore supposed to be private and off-limit are still vsited by poochers. Folks would basically respect lemurs are they are 'fady' or taboo so they are not hunted and eaten. In national reservations they try to attract as many tourists as possible in order to get some money so trails are all over the place, ground stamped which is very bad for plants regeneration hence natural life habitat. And as people are too poor to buy gas they rely in charcoal for cooking which means more tree felled...
Ian,
Those frogs are amazing, tiny things (say 5cm long) but so noisy!
gloria125
Greensboro, AL

April 21, 2008
6:02 PM

Post #4841595