Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Japanese Maples: Meigetsu Itaya?

Communities > Forums > Japanese Maples
bookmark
Forum: Japanese MaplesReplies: 7, Views: 93
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Siggy
Garland, TX
(Zone 8a)

May 2, 2008
3:22 PM

Post #4896386

I am new to Japanese Maple's and I have questions. We just removed a large dead tree leaving a space in a wooded area. I would like to plant a large Japanese Maple in the space. Someone has suggested a 'Meigetsu Itaya'. Can anyone tell me about this plant? What shape, size, fall color will it grow into. And how fast does it grow? And anything else about it.
Thanks
Davidsan
Springfield, IL
(Zone 6a)

May 2, 2008
6:55 PM

Post #4897229

Strange choice for a first JM ...but the word Meigetsu seems be synonomous with Japonican if I read vertrees rather criptic comments on it ...it also could be a totally differnt species the translation is multifold ..Itaya is a is a specific cultivar of japonican... that is I believe most likely but not certainly what you are referring to ... whether it does well down there or is your best choice is questionable... Della has a couple of them so do many other nurseries incl. greers here's their description if this is in fact the right tree!!

NEW 50308 Acer japonicum ‘Itaya’ — 15'. Rounded leaves with the lobes separated about 1/3 to the leaf base. Bold structure with short internodes enables a strong plant. Fall color is spectacular with bright yellows, oranges, and reds. 4-5' $69.95