Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Peppers: Pepper problem?

Communities > Forums > Peppers
bookmark
Forum: PeppersReplies: 12, Views: 199
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
tucsonjill
Lincoln, NE
(Zone 5a)

May 7, 2008
12:12 AM

Post #4916333

This is my first time growing peppers (from seed, even!) and I'm not sure what I've got going here. The leaves on most of my peppers (Frank's and Earlired) are kind of crinkly-looking and not regularly shaped. Do I have a problem, and if so, what should I do?

Thanks for the help!

Thumbnail by tucsonjill
Click the image for an enlarged view.

twiggybuds
Moss Point, MS
(Zone 8b)

May 7, 2008
4:31 AM

Post #4917627

I'm following you around with what looks like the same problems on a couple of my peppers and tomatoes.

I heard good things about neem and got some Garden Safe 3 in 1 Fungicide. It is distributed by Shultz and has 70% neem. After about the 3rd treatment, I think the plants are straightening out. The peppers have not lost the curly leaves but new growth looks normal. The tomatoes got pinched and I allowed a sucker to become the new main stem. The new growth on those also looks normal. They are behind the other plants and I can only hope they continue to grow. That was 3 treatments about 3 days apart. I continue to use it as a preventative on all my peppers and tomatoes. Surely I live in the pestilence capital of the world. I'm now wondering if they can get polinated because this stuff is for insects too.
tucsonjill
Lincoln, NE
(Zone 5a)

May 7, 2008
3:44 PM

Post #4919149

Well, we can keep each other company, at least! :) Got any coffee to drink while we wander?

Do peppers need a pollinator? I know tomatoes don't require one, but no clue on peppers.

Oh, experts?
smokemaster
North Hills, CA

May 7, 2008
5:09 PM

Post #4919540