Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Gingers: Growing ginger in zone 7

Communities > Forums > Gingers
bookmark
Forum: GingersReplies: 14, Views: 202
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
rah127
Dalton, GA
(Zone 7b)

May 19, 2008
3:47 PM

Post #4973726

Hello everyone! I am new to trying to grow some tropicals in pots. I have had success with a few other plants, but I just got back from Hawaii and brought some different gingers back with me. I know they can't stay outside when it starts getting cold. Has anyone had success wintering over non-hardy species without the help of a greenhouse? I have an unheated garage and several bright windows. Any help would be appreciated!
mqiq77
Danielsville, GA
(Zone 7b)

May 25, 2008
3:50 AM

Post #4999488

I'm in zone 7, and what I have goes dormant in winter, then returns.I'm no expert on gingers, but love them, and I am going to Hawaii this nov, and hope to get some plants.Is it tricky, or are you allowed so many, this will be our first and only trip their.LMK Mike
rah127
Dalton, GA
(Zone 7b)

May 25, 2008
11:25 AM

Post #5000054

it's not tricky--I did it the easy way. They have pre-approved packages of cuttings everywhere--I just got those. They also had a nursery on one of the islands that would send actual plants home, but they told me the gingers would come up fine from cuttings...the cuttings are relatively cheap (about 2-3 dollars apiece) and you can take at least a whole carry-on full of plants home (that's what I did)--also got some plumerias and an air plant and a coffee plant and a couple of tree ferns :~) I loved the plants while I was there!
mqiq77
Danielsville, GA
(Zone 7b)

May 25, 2008
8:01 PM

Post #5001873

Thanks, I know I will too.M
nathalyn
Knoxville, TN
(Zone 7a)

May 28, 2008
4:38 PM