Hard to believe how time has flown, but the16th DG annual photo contest has begun! Find the details here. Best wishes to all the entrants!!!

squirrel hunting

Venice, FL

My boyfriend has been hunting squirrel all over the house. the lil buggers have so far seemed to outwit him. any suggestions? I have a garden in the backyard and I'll be darned if they're gonna eat my corn.

Gladwin, MI(Zone 5a)

Are they in the house or outside?

Venice, FL

outside. we have a vegetable garden they've been trying to get into. he's put peanuts down to try and lure them in and as soon as he gets them sighted in they run like heck up the tree

Gladwin, MI(Zone 5a)

Well, I am no expert on squirrels but I have learned much about them over the last few years of squirrel battles.
They are pretty smart. You are going to need a blind or some kind of cover. But they will get to know that too and run when they see the barrel of the gun come out.

I have shot them out of trees many times, but depending on the area (if there are other houses near you) this could be a problem.
If you can shoot them in trees, you need your gun sighted in well, and know the distance so you can adjust for the drop of the bullet.
I like to use a 17cal. It is really straight shooting and you don't need to guess where the bullet is going.

I do have to say that if you are trying to lower the squirrel population that is pretty futile. When you remove some, more come into the area (that were maybe run out before). Squirrels also tend to mulitply quickly, esp when the population is lowered. Also, it seems to bring in the red squirrels and chipmunks when there are less of the gray, fox, or black squirrels.

I have not found an answer to the problem yet.

Venice, FL

darn. we're doing this with a daisy bb gun from walmart. I'm in a rather urbanized area. we just wait till they aren't home and the daisy doesn't make any noise so we don't have to worry about that.

Gladwin, MI(Zone 5a)