Photo by Melody

Beginner Flowers: How can I tell when to deadhead Gerberas?

Communities > Forums > Beginner Flowers
bookmark
Forum: Beginner FlowersReplies: 5, Views: 83
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
danludwig
Cincinnati, OH

May 30, 2008
6:50 PM

Post #5026808

I'm new to this plant, and gardening in general. Is it obvious when Gerbera daisies are ready to be deadheaded? Yesterday I noticed some discoloration in the center cone of a flower, and poked it a little with my finger. The cone was dry and brittle, it easily cracked apart, and then a bunch of tiny insects started running out of it (just planted it 5 days ago).

I sprayed with Bug-B-Gon, but I'm wondering... were those insects feeding on seeds? If the flower is producing seeds, isn't that when I deadhead? Or were the insects feeding on plant material other than seeds?

Thanks,

Dan

Thumbnail by danludwig
Click the image for an enlarged view.

KyWoods
Melbourne, KY
(Zone 6a)

May 31, 2008
4:38 AM

Post #5029322

Wow, Dan, I never heard of such a thing--I hope someone has the answer for you. Sorry I can't help, as I'm inexperienced with those, too. I just wanted to welcome you to Dave's Garden, and say hello from northern KY! There are several nice people from the greater Cincy area who are members here.
I checked out your garden journal--you have a lot of wonderful plants!
ecrane3
Dublin, CA
(Zone 9a)

May 31, 2008
4:42 AM

Post #5029335

Can't help you on the bugs, that does sound really weird. But you don't have seeds yet, those will form after the flowers fade away. They'll form in that area in the middle of the flower, but they're not there yet. I only grew Gerberas once, but typically with flowers like that it's pretty obvious when the flowers start to fade--the petals may get brown & droopy or start to fall off, things like that. You'll know it when you see it.
NatureLover1950
Vicksburg, MS
(Zone 8a)

May 31, 2008
4:13 PM

Post #5030876