Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Beginner Vegetables: Dry beans - when to pick

Communities > Forums > Beginner Vegetables
bookmark
Forum: Beginner VegetablesReplies: 2, Views: 27
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
mtilton
Ada, OK
(Zone 7a)

May 31, 2008
3:38 AM

Post #5029116

I'm kind of new at growing vegetables. Please tell me about:

(1) snap/string/green beans - the ones you pick when they are still pretty thin
(2) shell(ey) beans - ?
(3) dry beans - ?

Please tell me when you're supposed to pick dry beans. If you're saving your seeds, and the seed pods are supposed to be brown and dried out when they're mature, how does that square with what I've read about picking the pods frequently if you want the plant to produce more pods?

Also, are shelley beans beans that are cooked green? How are these beans used in recipes? Thank you. I'm sorry for my ignorance.

Margo
Doug9345
Durhamville, NY
(Zone 5b)

May 31, 2008
4:07 AM

Post #5029225

If you're saving your seeds, and the seed pods are supposed to be brown and dried out when they're mature, how does that square with what I've read about picking the pods frequently if you want the plant to produce more pods?

Basically yes. When you keep picking the immature (green) seeds of the plant it keeps trying to make more. If you let it go to seed, that is dry beans, then its mission in life is done. When you decide to let the bean plant mature seeds you are done picking green (or whatever) beans.
TMaple
Saint Paul, MN

May 31, 2008
4:41 AM

Post #5029327