Kayaking in SE Alaska near Juneau

Kalispell, MT(Zone 4b)

I have had the opportunity to visit the Juneau area for the last year and I finally got my kayak up here last week. I have had some already wonderful experiences with the coastal community. This is a summary picture of what I get to see here. Whales, glaciers, and mountains That is the back of a humpback that I got to share the water with.

This message was edited Jun 1, 2008 9:56 PM

Thumbnail by Soferdig
Kalispell, MT(Zone 4b)

This is a little closer when he was feeding underneath me.

Thumbnail by Soferdig
Kalispell, MT(Zone 4b)

The Mendenhall Glacier was quite dramatic from out in the water.

Thumbnail by Soferdig
Kalispell, MT(Zone 4b)

Each island is an experience to see rich flora in the soils of AK. These were orchids that were everywhere.

Thumbnail by Soferdig
Kalispell, MT(Zone 4b)

This friend was nice enough to pose while I quietly kayaked past his fishing grounds.

Thumbnail by Soferdig
Kalispell, MT(Zone 4b)

Lots of rocks to frame in the mountains all around.

Thumbnail by Soferdig
Kalispell, MT(Zone 4b)

A friendly warm beach to sit and relax by a fire. Plenty of flat rocks to skip out on the salt water.

Thumbnail by Soferdig
Kalispell, MT(Zone 4b)

Lupines fill the high tide area to give pleasure to a quiet sit on a log.

Thumbnail by Soferdig
Kalispell, MT(Zone 4b)

Lots of whales to chase or just wait until they pass with their great blast of air.

Thumbnail by Soferdig
Kalispell, MT(Zone 4b)

The rock gardens are well done here. I must find who does their landscaping.

Thumbnail by Soferdig
Kalispell, MT(Zone 4b)

Tomorrow I have the day off so I will fly to more areas of discovery in a place called Berners Bay.

Thumbnail by Soferdig
KC Metro area, MO(Zone 6a)

Gorgeous pics Sofer!!

Gate (Rochester), WA(Zone 7b)

Wow! These are so cool - what an experience you must of had!

Kalispell, MT(Zone 4b)