Photo by Melody

Propagation: rooting bottlebrush ( callistemon)

Communities > Forums > Propagation
bookmark
Forum: PropagationReplies: 5, Views: 98
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
ibartoo
Pawleys Island, SC

June 3, 2008
5:44 PM

Post #5046867

HI Everyone, I am new in these forums. I have been trading on DG for a couple of years, but never got into the forums. I am looking forward to meeting you and learning from you.

Does anyone know how to root bottle brush trees? Mine was gorgeous this year and I would like to have a few more. Thanks, Ibartoo
lbrabec
(Lynn) Omaha, NE
(Zone 5a)

June 5, 2008
5:12 PM

Post #5058068

Hi,
If you mean Callistemon, Take cuttings from semi-ripe wood in summer. Bottlebrush can be grown with patience from seeds. Gather dried flowers and keep in them paper bags to let seeds fall; plant in spring, sowing on the soil surface. Lynn
yzkwik
Trenton, SC

June 7, 2008
6:50 PM

Post #5068319

Hi Ibartoo,

I am also new on these forums. I have been able to root many bottlebrush they seem to root quite easily. I take cuttings in September making sure that they have at least three nodes on them, remove all leaves except the top six or so and then dip and stick. I use Dip and Grow for the dipping hormone at a 1 to 15 ratio-1 Dip and Grow to 15 water. Potting soil I use fine chipped pine bark and add perlite-3 parts pine bark to 1 part perlite. I have a misting system which I use but you can take a large freezer bag and wet your cuttings and then put in the bag, making sure you maintain bag moisture-after three or so weeks they or it should be rooted. You also can use powdered hormone just follow the direction on the can.
ibartoo
Pawleys Island, SC

June 8, 2008
6:59 PM

Post #5072573

Thank you so much, Out of desperation, I just snipped some cuttings and started them with rootone and composted pine bark mulch and put them in a ziplock bag. I can't wait to see if this works. I will try again in september if these are not successful.
Ibartoo