Photo by Melody

Garden Talk: Anyone on here grow orchids?

Communities > Forums > Garden Talk
bookmark
Forum: Garden TalkReplies: 8, Views: 101
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
SherryJ
Kersey, PA

February 12, 2001
7:47 PM

Post #1335

I've been growing them since 1992. I've killed a few, but still have some of my originals...

Looking forward to warmer weather so I can order more.

If you do grow orchids, what are your favorites? I like the species orchids and Cattleyas.
Pete2
Richmond Hill, GA
(Zone 8b)

February 12, 2001
9:26 PM

Post #51787

Hi SherryJ! I just started with my first orchids in 2000. Frank (he's around here somewhere!)is really into orchids and has LOTS of them even some of the fragrant ones. What are my favorites? That's a tough one. I really can't choose...they're all so beautiful. What company do you order your orchids from?

Pete2
SherryJ
Kersey, PA

February 12, 2001
11:53 PM

Post #51818

I like to order from Oak Hill Gardens which is near Chicago. I think they have really reasonable prices, and they have a great selection of species! I got an order from them last week, and should be getting another order this Wednesday.

I also like Tropic 1 Orchids in Florida for Catts and Phals. They offer semi-small (2" pot) catt seedlings for $6.00, and it's no trouble to grow them to blooming size. I have an order in with them, but don't expect to get it for a couple of weeks.

If you need the URLs for these places let me know.

One of my favorite things to do is get a bunch of seedlings and get them to bloom for the first time. Buying an orchid that is already blooming is like knowing what is inside a Christmas present before you open it! :-D
Pete2
Richmond Hill, GA
(Zone 8b)

February 13, 2001
1:38 AM

Post #51831

Sherry, could you please post the URL's for those? Thanks! :)

Pete2
Pete2
Richmond Hill, GA
(Zone 8b)

February 13, 2001
3:21 AM

Post #51863