Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Light_for_Jesus

(Zone 6b)

June 9, 2008
10:34 PM

Post #5078797

I am very VERY new to gardening and would like some information on potatoes. I have them in the ground and they are already a foot high. I'm so proud.

My question is, how do I save some seed for next year? Also, I was told I could leave the potatoes in the ground during the winter and just go out and dig them up when I wanted to eat them. Is that right? Also good for carrots and onions and beets, etc? As far as leaving them in the ground, I mean, and harvesting them whenever I want? I am in zone 6/7.

Karen
Farmerdill
Augusta, GA
(Zone 8a)

June 9, 2008
10:54 PM

Post #5078876

You simply use the mature potatoes from this crop as seed potatoes. As far as leaving them in ground over the winter, I would not do do it. Voles and other critters would harvest them for me. If you are zone 6, you would also have the possibility of frozen ground. I am digging mine now and storing them.

Thumbnail by Farmerdill
Click the image for an enlarged view.

Light_for_Jesus

(Zone 6b)

June 10, 2008
1:21 AM

Post #5079775

Ty Farmerdill,

How and where do you store them?

Karen
Farmerdill
Augusta, GA
(Zone 8a)

June 10, 2008
11:43 AM

Post #5081449

I usually just put them in bushel baskets and store them in a window less barn until cold weather. Then I move the remainder to the pantry. When I grew a lot of them, I had a root cellar, which is the ideal storage place. an unheated unfinished basement is the next best thing. You can also dig a hole in the ground, line it with fine mesh wire, and straw, put in the potatoes cover with straw and mound up with earth, ( Kilning /banking)
Melissande
Chillicothe, OH

August 6, 2008
11:58 AM

Post #5375948