Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Hydrangeas: Can I root hydrangea cuttings

Communities > Forums > Hydrangeas
bookmark
Forum: HydrangeasReplies: 41, Views: 670
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
LorraineR
Gilmer, TX
(Zone 8a)

June 22, 2008
7:50 AM

Post #5141109

I am really new to rooting cuttings, and I really want to do some hydrangeas.
Someone told me they couldn't be rooted, others said they could. HELP!!

Figured you guys would know
ecrane3
Dublin, CA
(Zone 9a)

June 22, 2008
4:00 PM

Post #5142505

They can be rooted--I've never done it myself so I don't know when the right time of year is or what sort of cuttings you're supposed to do, but I do know they can be propagated that way. Unless they're patented hydrangeas, in which case you're not supposed to propagate them that way without the permission of the patent holder.
LorraineR
Gilmer, TX
(Zone 8a)

June 22, 2008
7:23 PM

Post #5143278

These are just some I"ve had for years, got them from Wal mart I'm sure. I just wanted to put some in another bed. jk Can't hurt to try!!! I really didn't even know you had to do it a certain time of year. uh oh.!!! lol
ecrane3
Dublin, CA
(Zone 9a)

June 22, 2008
7:39 PM

Post #5143332

I really don't do cuttings so for hydrangeas I don't know if it matters at all what time of year you take the cuttings. Some plants will root better at certain times of year but I think it has to do with whether they root best from softwood cuttings vs hardwood, and for hydrangeas I just don't know which ones work best. I'm sure someone else around here does though, hopefully you'll have some more details soon!
runktrun
Edgartown, MA
(Zone 7a)

June 22, 2008
9:27 PM

Post #5143740

Lorraine,