Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Handyman: How to remove bolts on exhaust pipe on van

Communities > Forums > Handyman
bookmark
Forum: HandymanReplies: 18, Views: 118
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Light_for_Jesus

(Zone 6b)

June 26, 2008
5:17 PM

Post #5163193

I am trying to remove some bolts and nuts on an exhaust pipe on my van and so far, no go.

I wondered if anyone has knowledge on this. I've been using aerokroil and have tried a propane torch. A lady on another thread advised against the propane torch because she had one explode on her and had severe burns.

I bought a coke to pour on it. Yesterday I tried candle wax.

I also have a compressor and an air wrench, but haven't tried it because I heard they can twist the bolt off, also I am new to air tools, they kind of scare me.

I need to get this done as soon as possible, but for me that might be months. In the meantime I do have another car to drive.

Thank you for any help,
Karen
Doug9345
Durhamville, NY
(Zone 5b)

June 28, 2008
12:20 AM

Post #5170349

Are you talking about bolts and nuts that hold the exhaust to the exhaust manifold?

If it is a stud then breaking it off is a problem, if it's a bolt with a nut then it's not.