Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Article: My Favorite Climbing Rose, ‘Zephirine Drouhin’: Nice article about a nice rose.

Communities > Forums > Article: My Favorite Climbing Rose, ‘Zephirine Drouhin’
bookmark
Forum: Article: My Favorite Climbing Rose, ‘Zephirine Drouhin’Replies: 11, Views: 121
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
PaulFromAL
Piedmont, AL
(Zone 7b)

July 3, 2008
3:30 PM

Post #5198336

You picked a good one to write about and to grow...A nursery owner friend of mine suggested a Zephy to use on a 3 post swag I wanted to build/grow for my wife...It's really worked out well...I'm only learning by trial and error the best ways to train the canes up and around the posts, how many canes to choose for each post and training the canes along the chains...but I'm getting there slowly, slowly...Here's some photos of the second year:

http://gallery.mac.com/sinai#100071

Again thanks for the nice article...by the way, waiting to see if this year I have any fall bloom at all, I've read where some folks have had one and other folks never see a bloom one, I reckon I'll see this year cause I had a great spring bloom this year...

Paul from Alabama
critterologist
Frederick, MD
(Zone 6b)

July 3, 2008
7:32 PM

Post #5199501

It's my "trial & error" rose, too... I swear, it's like a rose with training wheels!

I like your chain "swag" between the posts... it's looking good already! I get sporadic rebloom throughout the summer and generally at least one more good flush of blooms after the big spring bloom from mine. Hope you get some repeat bloom from yours this year, too.

Thanks for sharing those photos!
DiggerDee
Ffld County, CT
(Zone 6b)

July 4, 2008
1:06 AM

Post #5200957